Anas wins GJA Journalist of the Year award

by | Aug 29, 2016 | Local News | 0 comments

Investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas has won the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Journalist of the Year 2015.

He took home Hyundai SUV plus a certificate and a plaque as his prize.

The renowned undercover journalist’s work on the judicial corruption scandal in 2015 which exposed deep seated rot in the arm of government took the nation by surprise even though it is widely known there’s some corruption in the judiciary.

Anas’ Tiger Eye PI team’s investigations captured some 22 lower court judges and 12 High Court judges captured on video, allegedly taking bribes to influence justice.

So far, 20 of the lower court judges have been removed from office including some of their superiors.

In his acceptance speech, Anas was thankful to his team and “all those” who played a role in a successful investigation.

This is the second time he’s been adjudged the GJA Journalist of the Year as he won same in 2006 and picked the investigative journalist of the year prize in 2008.

Below is a list of other award winners:

Honorary Awards

1. Ideal Group
2. Global Media Alliance
3. EIB Network
4. Ghana Armed Forces
5. Good Morning Ghana
6. Viasat One
7. Mr. Bright Kwame Blewo

Best Journalist Sports Radio
Benedict Owusu – Joy News
Best Journalist Sports Print
John Viga – Ghanaian Times

Best Photo Journalist
Samuel Tei Adanu – Daily Graphic

Best Journalist Human Rights
Gabriel Obodai Togboe Ashon – Metro TV

Best Journalist Health
A. B Kaffui Kanyi – GNA
Best Journalist, Education Print
Emmanuel Baah – Daily Graphic
Best Journalist, Crime and Court
Beatrice Addo – Joy Fm
Best Journalist, Telecommunication
Emmanuel Doe Ablodepey – Daily Graphic
Best Journalist, News Reporting
Grace Sogbe – Revelation Newspaper
Best Journalist, Sustainable Development Goals
Joseph Opoku Gakpo – Joy Fm
Best Feature, Print
Kofi Yeboah – Revelation Newspaper
Best Journalist Rural Reporting
Kaffui Kanye – GNA
Best Journalist, Environment
Seth Kwame Boateng – Multimedia
Best Reporting, Investigation
John Viga – Ghanaian Times
Best Journalist, SME’s
Famous Kwasi Attitsogbe
Best Journalist, Oil and Gas
Dokye Kobla Akorbutu
Best Journalist, Agriculture
Gabriel Ahiabor – Daily Graphic
Dr. Nii Kotei Special Award for Best Financial Reporter
Elvis Darko – Finder
Best Print Layout
Elvis Darko – Finder
News Reporting, Electronic
Seth Kwame Boateng – Multimedia
Best Feature, Television
Seth Kwame Boateng – Multimedia
Best Journalist, Art and Entertainment
Kwasi Attitsogbe
Best Reporter, Science
Rebecca Queye – Daily Graphic
Best Reporter, Sanitation and Hygiene
Rebecca Queye – GBC 24
GJA Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist
Maxwell Akalery Adombila



About The Author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.


  • NEEDS-WEB-AD-2.jpg
  • NEEDS-WEB-AD.jpg
  • PASSION-WEB-AD-3.jpg

Most Viewed Posts

Like Us On Facebook

Our Photo Gallery

Featured Articles


  • PASSION-WEB-AD-4.jpg
  • PASSION-WEB-AD-5.jpg
  • GOTV-WEB-AD3.jpg
  • GOTV-WEB-AD.jpg

Newspaper Headlines

  • therepublic-Oct-5.jpg
  • therepublic-Oct-11.jpg
  • TheGazettetuesday-Oct.-10.jpg


APO News

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for our newsletter and get notified when we publish new articles for free!