2016 National Best Teacher And Best School Awards Launched

by | Sep 29, 2016 | Education, Local News | 0 comments

The Minister of Education, Professor Jane Naana Opoko Agyemang has launched the 22nd edition of National Best Teacher and 2nd Best School Awards in Accra.

The launch is a prelude to series of activities that go towards the main event which will be held in Sunyani on 5th October.

Speaking at the launch, the education minister noted that the awards was instituted to recognise excellence, a sense of professionalism and dedication of teachers to the teaching service and definitely the complementary role played by the non-teaching staff for the Ghana Education Service (GES).

She said, the best school awards which was introduced last year was instituted to create a good relation between major key players within the school environment to ensure quality learning experience since we are interested in quality education .

“We instituted the best school because we taught that there should be a good relation between the environment; the relationship between the Head and the teachers; the relationship among the teachers; the relationship between the teachers and the students; the relationship between the teaching and the non-teaching staff- all of these create an environment that allow quality learning to take place,” the minister said.

The Minister said, since 2013 to date, through the Ministry of Education, government has invested a lot of resources to enhance the skills of teachers in order to impart quality education delivery and the efforts have started yielding results as seen in the recent improved BECE and WASSCE results.

She called on all teachers, parents, the community, non-teaching staff to reflect on their roles and responsibilities as both the government and sponsors continue the right investments towards improving the image of the teacher.

The Deputy Minister of Education in charge of pre-tertiary and chairman of the awards committee, Mr Alex Kyeremeh announced that, this year’s awards would reward 36 teachers, 33 schools, 10 national service personnel, 20 retired teachers and 3 foreign volunteer teachers for their dedication and hard work.

In his remarks, the Chairman for the occasion and GES Council Member, Mr John Nyoagbe noted that, although government is making huge investments in improving infrastructure in the education sector, quality education goes beyond just providing infrastructure. He said, in several instances, what goes on within the buildings are more important.

In conclusion, he tasked everyone to reflect on the things that they can do on their part to improve on the quality of education.

The best teacher awards was instituted in 1995 to recognise and motivate dedicated and hardworking teachers across the country.

Every year, since 1995, the climax of the awards is marked by a ceremony and this coincide with the Teachers’ Day which was instituted by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Sponsors of this year’s awards were present to announce their packages for the winners.



  • PASSION-WEB-AD-3.jpg
  • NEEDS-WEB-AD-2.jpg
  • NEEDS-WEB-AD.jpg

Most Viewed Posts

Like Us On Facebook

Our Photo Gallery

Featured Articles


  • PASSION-WEB-AD-5.jpg
  • GOTV-WEB-AD3.jpg
  • GOTV-WEB-AD.jpg
  • PASSION-WEB-AD-4.jpg

Newspaper Headlines

  • therepublic-Oct-5.jpg
  • TheGazettetuesday-Oct.-10.jpg
  • therepublic-Oct-11.jpg


APO News

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for our newsletter and get notified when we publish new articles for free!