Nana Addo Names Dr. Opoku Prempeh As Minister Designate For Education Ministry

by | Jan 10, 2017 | Education, Local News, Politics | 0 comments

Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Member of Parliament (MP) for Manhyia South, has been named Minister designate for the Ministry of Education.

President Akufo-Addo made the announcement when he made public his first list of ministers designate pending parliamentary approval at the Flagstaff House on Tuesday, 10th January, 2017.

Announcing Dr. Prempeh, President Nana Addo emphasized the need for every young person in Ghana to access free and quality education.

“Where we are and where we want to get to, is nothing more important than the quality of the educational system that we have… It is the responsibility of the state to make sure that every young person in this country has access to quality secondary education and so we want to make it free,” the President said.

Nana Addo expressed faith in Dr. Matthew Prempeh to deliver on the promises including the Free SHS the New Patriotic Party (NPP) made to the people of Ghana in the educational sector.

He added that, “It is important that we develop the human capital of our country.”

Brief Profile of Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Matthew Opoku Prempeh has been a Member of Parliament since 2008. He won the seat again in 2016, making him eligible to be MP for a second term.

Born on May 23,1968, Opoku Prempeh comes from Pakyi No. 2 in the Ashanti Region.

He holds MB CHB (KNUST),MSc (Chemical Epidemiology) Netherlands Institute for HealthScience, MRCS which he obtained in 1994; 1998 and 2002 respectively.

He is a Medical Doctor/Health Worker and was the Executive Chairman, Keyemap Services Limited before he became an MP.

Find the full list below:

Senior Minister – Yaw Osafo-Maafo

National Security Minister – Albert Kan Dapaah

Minister of Trade and Industry – Alan Kyeremanten

Minister of Finance – Ken Ofori-Atta

Minister of Agriculture – Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto

Minister of Energy – Boakye Agyarko

Minister of Defence – Dominic Nitiwul

Minister of Interior – Ambrose Dery

Minister of Foreign Affairs – Shirley Ayorkor Botchway

Attorney General  – Gloria Akuffo

Minister of Local Government – Hajia Alima Mahama

Minister of Education – Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Minister of Health – Kwaku Agyemang-Manu



  • NEEDS-WEB-AD.jpg
  • NEEDS-WEB-AD-2.jpg
  • PASSION-WEB-AD-3.jpg

Most Viewed Posts

Like Us On Facebook

Our Photo Gallery

Featured Articles


  • GOTV-WEB-AD3.jpg
  • PASSION-WEB-AD-5.jpg
  • PASSION-WEB-AD-4.jpg
  • GOTV-WEB-AD.jpg

Newspaper Headlines

  • TheGazettetuesday-Oct.-10.jpg
  • therepublic-Oct-11.jpg
  • therepublic-Oct-5.jpg


APO News

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for our newsletter and get notified when we publish new articles for free!